What Motivates David McDermott

I have thought about this for a while now. First, and foremost, what motivates me is the faith I have in my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. However, I am nowhere close to perfect and fall way short every single day.
What motivates me most after my faith, is my family, and kids in particular. Every move I make, every breath I take, and everything I do is based on how it will effect them and my family unit as a whole. When I say everything, I actually do mean everything, whether it’s needs, wants, and especially time that I give to my family.
There are things I want, like a new truck, or a bigger tv, but those are just things. I make sure my children’s needs and wants are taken care of before I even consider myself and my own wants and needs. I drive a vehicle with almost 220,000 miles on it, with no a/c to confirm that. Yeah, I could work a few more hours and maybe I could get those things I personally want, but they are just things and things are never more important to me than my family.

What’s most important to me, what motivates me the most is the time I get with my family.

A little back story about me, you see, when I was growing up, my parents divorced when I was 10. When that happened, time was all that mattered. I did not want more things, I wanted more time with my dad. Don’t get me wrong, I have the greatest mom ever who did everything she could, but every kid needs their father.

Since becoming a father myself, I’ve been reminded that, aside from Jesus Christ, nothing is more important than time with my children. After all, we only get one chance at this wonderful thing called parenthood, at being Mom’s or Dad’s. No matter how much one works, you cannot buy back even one second with your kids. Once the time is gone, it’s gone forever. It’s never been said on one deathbed; “I wish I had one more day at the office.” It’s more like, “I wish I had more time with my family and kids.” So in a nutshell, what motivates me most is not just my kids, but spending as much good, quality time I can with them!

Some of David’s Goals

Weekly Goals

On a weekly basis what motivates me most is providing for my family while at the same time spending as much time with them as possible. Being a driver for UPS, that can be difficult at times, but that is where my faith in Jesus comes in. I firmly believe He will provide both.

Monthly Goals

My monthly goals include simply meeting my responsibilities….making sure the bills are paid so my kids can do their extracurricular activities.

Yearly Goals

Finally, on a yearly basis, it’s all about setting aside a few weeks every summer to spend good, quality time with the family on vacations or stay-cations. As you can probably see, spending time with family is what is most important to me, and ultimately is the biggest motivator in anything, and everything I do.

Final Notes & Advice

The best advice I can offer is to just think about the legacy you want to leave for your children. What they learn from you….good, bad, or indifferent….they will carry with them for the rest of their lives and pass on to their families.

Proverbs 22:6

Start children off on the way they should go, and even when they are old they will not turn from it.

Note from Nicole:

Thank you David for taking the time to submit a Guest Blog.  Your motivations and goals are so wonderful and the world will appreciate them so much.  Every person has a different reality but I believe that your goals and motivations are so pure and so wonderful and I feel blessed to share them with the world.  Thank you again.

We invite you to write a comment and share your feelings on David and is his goals and motivations.  Also be sure to follow the blog to see how other bloggers share their motivations, goals and feelings about life.  and you are also welcome to become a guest blogger as well or call Nicole at 561-880-8565 to do an interview.

Leave a Reply

